Skip to main content


More music for more Montanans

Contact Us
What Others Say About Us
Site Map
Member Login
2017-2018 Season
Past Seasons & Pictures
2016-2017 Season
2015-2016 Season
2014-2015 Season
2013-2014 Season
September 29, 2013
October 27, 2013 Concert
Novermber 24, 2013 Concer
December 22, 2013
January 19, 2014
February 23, 2014
March 30, 2014
April 27, 2013
2012-2013 Season
2011-2012 Season
2010-2011 Season
2009-2010 Season
2008-2009 Season
2007-2008 Season
2006-2007 Season
2005-2006 Season
Once again the Yellowstone Art Museum
Hosts YCP!

Come visit one the nicest environments to hear a concert of chamber music!  In fact, come early and take in the presentations of the YAM itself. 

Sunday, November 24 2013 at 3pm

Today's featured artists are: Mary LaMonaca (violin); Carol Critelli (cello); Delores Vigesaa (piano); and Elizabeth Adcock (guitar)

Denis Poliquin completed his studies in 1979 at Quebec City's Conservatoire de Musique where he was unanimously awarded the first prize in guitar. As a fellow of the Canada Council of Arts, he attended the Banff School of Fine Arts where he studied with K. Wheeler and D. Holland. In 1984 and 1986, he won first prize in composition at the Carrefour mondial de la guitare in Martinique. He has played as a soloist at the Toronto Guitar Festival, Quebec City's Festival d'été, the Saint-Malo Jazz Festival as well as on Radio-Canada. He taught for more than eight years in Quebec conservatories and at Collège Notre Dame. Since 1979 his name has been associated with the Domaine Forget where he works as a teacher and coordinates guitar and jazz training sessions. He is also director of the Académie de Guitare de Montréal. In 1996, his accomplishments as a composer and arranger earned him a commission from the Conseil des Arts et Lettres du Québec to write a piece for 20 guitars, to be entitled "Au jour le jour". 

Today's selection is Mr.Poliquin's Cinq phonies for Violin, Piano and Guitar.

The other composer on today's program needs little introduction-Sergei Rachmaninoff.  While Rachmaninoff was mainly know as composer and performer of large symphonic works including his four piano concerti, he composer "smaller scale" works as well.  Today's offering is the Trio Elegiaque, Op.9.

Written in memory of Tchaikovsky, theTrio élégiaque in D minor, opus 9 is a piano trio begun on 5 October and completed on 15 December 1893. It is in three movements:

  • Moderato
  • Quasi variazione
  • Allegro risoluto

The first movement starts with a sombre tone, and erupts violently near the end.

The second movement consists of variations upon the first theme. The final movement, although short, is dominated by the unceasingly powerful and dramatic piano part. This piano trio is similar to Tchaikovsky's Trio in A minor which was dedicated to Nicoloai Rubinstein, in that it follows the same basic structure. It was first performed in Moscow on 31 January 1894 with Rachmaninoff himself playing the piano part.

Despite his youth, Rachmaninoff shows in the virtuoso piano part his ability to cover a wide spectrum of sound colors. This trio has a distinctive connection to Tchaikovsky's Trio in A minor both in the unusual, expanded first movement, and in the funeral march as a conclusion.